Mix 93.1 logo
Get our free mobile app
  • Drunk Drivers
  • Collateral Damage
  • Child Support

Back in June Greg Abbott signed 88(R) HB 393 into law. The law is known as "Bentley's Law" and Texas is the fifth or so state to pass it.

The new measure requires drunk drivers involved in deadly crashes to pay restitution to orphaned children. This restitution is in the form of monthly child support to the surviving minor children of their adult victims.

Since this law was for children, there wasn't a lot of pushback when it passed with bipartisan support. Now starting on September 1st, this law along with many others takes effect.

DUI Offenders To Pay Victims' Orphaned Kids 

This is another deterrent, so you will not get behind the wheel if you are intoxicated. If you kill a parent in a crash, the amount that you pay monthly until the child reaches 18 years old will be decided upon by the court.

The payment will be based on many different variables. Judges will take into account the physical and emotional condition, educational needs, and the standard of living the child is accustomed to among other factors.

Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD) is a huge proponent of this bill and has been key in its passing in the few states that it has been introduced. The hope is to alleviate the financial struggles that families go through.

Long Term Accountability For Drunk Drivers In Texas 

This law is a step in the right direction by making people think about what they are doing before they get behind the wheel after using an intoxicant.

Texas 10 Most Wanted Sex Offenders For August 2023

There are only 7 fugitives left on the list to find as of August 8, 2023. All but one has a $3K reward from the Texas Department of Public Safety. 

6 Vehicle Issues That Are Illegal in Texas

Here are 6 vehicle issues that could get you pulled over or a ticket from law enforcement in the state of Texas

Unsolved: These Are The Top Texas Cold Cases

The Texas Rangers keep an updated website on the top cold case investigations in the state. They currently date back to 1979. One case is from Lubbock County.





More From Mix 93.1