Construction on Texas roads seems to have increased with the amount of traffic. As improvements to our highway systems continue, it's time for a refresher on Texas traffic laws.

In 2003 TxDOT implemented the "Move Over, Slow Down" campaign. That means you have to slow down to 20 MPH below the posted speed limit or move to the farthest lane when approaching certain situations.

Mix 93.1 logo
Get our free mobile app

The law started by going into effect when police, fire, and ambulances were present on the side of the road. Now that has been expanded to when you see anyone working on the side of the road, such as a tow truck driver.

Full List Of "Move Over, Slow Down" Protected Vehicles In Texas

According to TxDOT in 2013 the law was expanded to cover their workers and vehicles. Here is a 2024 full list of situations when you must slow down and move over.

Put a lane between you and the following protected vehicles or slow down to 20 MPH below the posted speed limit:

  • Law Enforcement
  • Tow Trucks
  • Utility Vehicles
  • Emergency Responders (ambulance/fire)
  • TxDOT vehicles with activated blue and amber lights on the side of the road

The Move Over or Slow Down law requires drivers to:

  • Be on alert and pay attention when approaching roadside law enforcement, emergency vehicles, tow trucks, utility vehicles, and TxDOT vehicles with flashing lights on.
  • When possible, move out of the lane closest to these vehicles.
  • Slow down to 20 mph below the posted speed limit if safely switching lanes is not possible or the road doesn’t offer multiple lanes.
  • Reduce speed to 5 mph on roadways with posted speed limits of 25 mph or less.

New Stricter Penalties For Not Moving Over Or Slowing Down For Emergency Vehicles

According to one of the new laws that went into effect on September 1, 2023 in Texas includes stricter penalties for not following this law.

What was a $200 slap on the wrist, has now been updated to $500 - $1,250. If you hurt someone on the side of the road, things get so much worse.

Read More: 5 Surprising Items That Are Illegal To Throw Away In Texas

It's a Class A Misdemeanor, punishable by a year in jail and a $400 fine. Repeat offenses make the fine range from $1,000 - $2,000.

Read More: New Texas Law Ensures Drunk Drivers Support Orphaned Children

If you hit someone when you violate again, that is a felony with up to two years in jail and a fine of up to $10,000.

These Are The Top 30 Counties In Texas For Lowest Cost Of Living

Everybody in the Lone Star State is looking to live comfortably. These counties could be the best for new Texans or currently living in the state.

Gallery Credit: Tommy Paradise, Townsquare Media, Stacker, Niche, FOX 26 Houston, Canva


More From Mix 93.1